Five Minute Friday: Help

Psalm 46:1

God is our protection and our strength. He always helps in times of trouble.

Immediately when I saw today’s word, I went to this verse as well as a song that has become very meaningful in the last year or so.

There are so many times when we look for help from the things that surround us – our own self-sufficiency, friends, hobbies, to-do lists, busyness.  I often look to fill my time up when I am in the midst of a struggle, yet never really address the root of the problem.  I look to pull myself up out of it all and miss out on the help that comes directly from the Lord.  He alone has the ability to protect us from our own selves and give us the strength we need to overcome insecurity, pride, temptation.  I usually go through phases of all these despite their being so extreme.

Today, I spend a moment to remember where the help comes from.  The only assistance that will ever be 100% successful.

He takes my failures, my burdens, my struggles and carries them for me – may I completely let them go and allow HIM to help me

 

Five Minute Friday is part of a community of writers….all you have to do is write for five minutes on the word of the week and post your words on your own blog.

This is meant to be a free write, which means: no editing, no over-thinking, no worrying about perfect grammar or punctuation.

Just write.

Posted on July 22, 2016, in Five Minute Friday. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jenn,

    Thank you for sharing the song and this:
    “He takes my failures, my burdens, my struggles and carries them for me – may I completely let them go and allow HIM to help me.”

    The completely letting go makes me feel so vulnerable and naked, but I know that he sees and loves me the same as the day He thought of me. It takes a lot of work to get it from my head to my heart. But I really need Jesus’ help with that. Sigh.

    Visiting from fmf 🙂

  2. Love this great reminder! God is our true help but it’s easy to look to other things sometimes instead of turning to him. The song is great too.

Leave a Reply

